By « Lives », we mean complete or summarized biographical accounts, including autobiographies, accounts of a particular event in the life of one or several individuals, as well as epitaphs and information inserted in a historiographical account or a travelogue.

« Buddhist actors » are not only monks and nuns, whether ’eminent’ or not, but also lay believers who exercised some influence (donor, witness or actor of a prodigy, employee at the monastery…).

The « Sinosphere » is the geographical area in which Chinese culture was imprinted, and where Chinese writing is or was used (China, Japan, Korea, Vietnam, Central Asia). The focus will be placed on the periods during which classical Chinese was used to transmit Buddhist culture.

« Extra-canonical » is all that has not been included in the Sinicist historical canons or that deviates from canonical orthodoxy (i.e. from the genre of biographies of eminent monks), and which is transmitted through media such as manuscripts from Dunhuang and elsewhere, inscriptions, steles, biji, epitaphs, vernacular literature and non-Chinese sources.

Aims

One idea would be to show the diversity of sources and the variety of narrative forms, which are themselves imbued with local East Asian narrative traditions. We will observe the points of convergence and divergence between these different forms and we will also pay attention to the textual practices that guide the way these texts were produced, reproduced, annotated, commented and circulated (collection, exegesis, reproduction/imitation, etc.).

Another idea would be to show the tension between orthodox and unorthodox texts, and the existence of different degrees of orthodoxy. The fact that extracanonical sources circulated shows that they were at one time and within a certain perimeter, given the stamp of orthodoxy or authenticity. The notion of orthodoxy or authenticity is a social construction shaped by groups of followers who produced, transmitted and venerated these texts. It would be necessary to pay attention to the dynamics of these groups.

Planning

Three half-day workshops per year with presentations by two participants of their work in progress, followed by discussion. The cycle of workshops will end with the organisation of a colloquium or a panel at an international conference, which will result in the publication of proceedings or a special issue of a journal.

The creation of a research notebook is envisaged.

Partager

Discipline(s)

biography-historiography religion

Participants

Leaders

Sylvie Hureau (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Garance Chao Zhang (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

CRCAO members

Full members
Sylvie Hureau (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Liying Kuo (École française d'Extrême-Orient)
Alexis Lycas (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Jean-Noël Robert (Collège de France)

Associated members
Didier Davin (National Institute of Japanese Literature 国文学研究資料館)
Vincent Goossaert (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Research support
Garance Chao Zhang (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Doctoral students
Yu Bai (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Outside Participants

Yannick Bruneton (Université Paris Cité)
Daniela Campo (Université de Strasbourg)
Catherine Despeux (INALCO)
Vincent Goossaert (EPHE)
Xiaoming Hou (post-doctoral student, UC Berkeley)
Junxi Long (PhD Candidate, EHESS)

Ce que l’on entend par Vies, ce sont des récits biographiques complets ou résumés, y compris des autobiographies, des récits d’un événement particulier de la vie d’une ou de plusieurs personnes, des épitaphes, des informations insérées dans un récit historiographique ou un récit de voyage.

Les acteurs bouddhiques sont non seulement les moines et moniales, fussent-ils « éminents » ou pas, mais aussi des croyants laïcs qui exercèrent une quelconque influence (donateur, témoin ou acteur d’un prodige, employé au monastère…).

La sinosphère est l’aire géographique sur laquelle la culture chinoise s’est imprimée, et où l’écriture chinoise est ou a été employée (Chine, Japon, Corée, Vietnam ; Asie centrale). L’accent sera placé sur les époques où le chinois classique était en usage pour transmettre la culture bouddhique.

Est extracanonique, tout ce qui n’a pas été inclus aux canons historiques sinisants ou qui s’écarte de l’orthodoxie canonique (c’est-à-dire du genre des biographies des moines éminents), et qui est porté par des supports tels que les manuscrits de Dunhuang et d’ailleurs, inscriptions, stèles, biji, épitaphes, littérature vernaculaire, sources non-chinoises.

Objectifs

L’une des idées serait de montrer la diversité des sources et la variété des formes narratives, qui sont elles-mêmes imprégnées des traditions narratives locales est-asiatiques. Nous observerons les points de convergence et de divergence entre ces différentes formes et nous prêterons également l’attention aux pratiques textuelles qui orientent la façon dont ces textes ont été produits, reproduits, annotés, commentés et mis en circulation (collection, exégèse, reproduction/imitation, etc.).

Une autre idée serait de montrer la tension entre textes orthodoxes et inorthodoxes, ainsi que l’existence de différents degrés d’orthodoxie. Le fait que des sources extracanoniques aient circulé montre qu’elles ont été revêtues, à un moment et sur un certain périmètre, d’orthodoxie ou d’authenticité. La notion d’orthodoxie ou d’authenticité est une construction sociale façonnée par des groupes de fidèles qui ont produit, transmis et vénéré ces textes. Il serait nécessaire de prêter attention à la dynamique de ces groupes.

Planning, méthode et résultats

Trois ateliers d’une demi-journée par an avec présentation par deux participants de leurs travaux en cours, accompagnée de discussion. Le cycle d’ateliers se clôturera par l’organisation d’un colloque ou la tenue d’un panel lors d’un congrès international, qui donnera lieu à la publication des actes ou d’un numéro spécial de revue.

La tenue d’un carnet de recherche est envisagée.

Partager

Inscription disciplinaire

biographie-historiographie religion

Participants

Responsables

Sylvie Hureau (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Garance Chao Zhang (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Membres CRCAO

Membres titulaires
Sylvie Hureau (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Liying Kuo (École française d'Extrême-Orient)
Alexis Lycas (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Jean-Noël Robert (Collège de France)

Membres associés
Didier Davin (Institut National de Littérature Japonaise 国文学研究資料館)
Vincent Goossaert (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Appui à la recherche
Garance Chao Zhang (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Doctorants
Yu Bai (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Participants hors laboratoire

Yannick Bruneton (Université Paris Cité)
Daniela Campo (Université de Strasbourg)
Catherine Despeux (INALCO)
Vincent Goossaert (EPHE)
Xiaoming Hou (postdoctorante, UC Berkeley)
Junxi Long (doctorante, EHESS)