General presentation

The Chinese Civilization team of the East Asian Civilizations Research Centre gathers around thirty of the Centre’s permanent members and thirty doctoral and post-doctoral students. The majority of the permanent members are professors from the University of Paris and the École Pratique des Hautes Études (EPHE) and researchers from the Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS), working mainly on ancient, medieval and pre-modern China, as well as on the contemporary period. Their fields of study include:

  • Manuscripts and inscriptions
  • Chinese religions: Buddhism, Taoism, Manichaeism, Zoroastrianism
  • History of the imperial period
  • Art history, archaeology and material culture
  • History of literature and literary Practices

What the research of the Chinese Civilization team shares in common is the direct use and exploitation of primary sources and materials, be it manuscripts, artefacts and archaeological relics, or fieldwork in the area of religion studies.

Activities

Each year, the team organizes workshops and symposiums, and it hosts around ten invited talks given by internationally renowned specialists in the field of Chinese studies, running the gamut of disciplinary approaches.
 The team’s document collection is held in the team’s working room, at the Collège de France, in the library of the Institut des hautes études chinoises, as well as in the library of the department of East-Asian Languages and Civilizations (LCAO) at the University of Paris. The China team’s library now includes more than 3500 titles, in Chinese, Japanese, French, German and English, mainly on Chinese manuscripts and epigraphy. All of the works in this collection are available in the online catalogue of the Collège de France.

Partners

Académie Chinoise des Sciences Sociales (CASS), Institut d’archéologie

Centre for the Studies of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC), Universität Hamburg

China Agricultural Museum, Pékin

Dunhuang Research Academy

Internationales Kolleg für Geisteswissenschaftliche Forschung (IKGF), Erlangen

Institut für Orient und Asienwissenschaften, Université de Bonn

Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Pékin

Irasia, Université Aix-Marseille

Palace Museum (Beijing)

Turfan Studies project (Turfanforschung), Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW)

Fudan University (Shanghai)

Université de Genève, Département d’études est-asiatiques (ESTAS)

Leiden University

University of Milano-Bicocca

Wuhan University, Center of Bamboo and Silk Manuscripts

Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Capital Normal University (Beijing), Chinese Poetry Research Center

Renmin University (Beijing)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Teaching

The members of the Chinese Civilization team supervise doctoral students from the École Pratique des Hautes Études, under the specialisations ‘Religions and Thought Systems’ and ‘History, Documents and Texts’, as well as from the University of Paris, under the doctoral programme ‘Language, Literature and Image: Civilisation and Humanities’ (ED 131).
They also teach courses in the framework of two specialised Master’s programmes in Asian studies in Paris:

History

In 1982, Michel Soymié created and led a research team (‘Équipe de recherches sur les manuscrits de Dunhuang et matériaux connexes’), whose principal role was to continue and complete the drafting of the Catalogue des manuscrits chinois de Touen-houang (Pelliot collection in the National Library). This team, which he led until 1992, also maintained the records of the reproductions of Chinese paintings from Dunhuang kept in the Guimet Museum (Les arts de l’Asie Centrale. La collection Pelliot du musée Guimet, 1995-1996). Parallel to this work, the team members were engaged in the intensive exploitation of all fifty thousand Dunhuang documents preserved in China, France, the United Kingdom, Russia and Japan, as well as manuscripts discovered in the Turfan region and other sites in Chinese Turkestan. This remains a major pillar of the team’s activities. Covering very different specialities, from ancient literature to Buddhist and Taoist texts, from cosmology to medicine, the analysis of these manuscripts demands competency in the areas of religious and social history, material culture, codicology, and science and technology. Work on the Dunhuang documents enabled team members to tackle new fields of study, especially thematic ones, to work on manuscripts from other sites such as Turfan or Douldour-âqour, and also on the collections of prints belonging to various major European institutions. Around this core group of famous pioneers in Dunhuang studies, the team has since grown: Chinese history studies have developed, and new fields of research have emerged –archaeology and epigraphy, pre-modern, modern and contemporary literature –- all while conserving its original strengths and, notably, a strong component in the field of religious studies.

Partager

Présentation

L’équipe Civilisation chinoise du Centre de recherche sur les civilisations de l’Asie orientale rassemble une trentaine de membres titulaires et une trentaine de doctorants et post-doctorants. Les membres titulaires sont majoritairement des enseignants-chercheurs de l’Université de Paris et de l’École Pratique des Hautes Études (EPHE) et des chercheurs du Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS), travaillant principalement sur la Chine ancienne, médiévale et prémoderne, ainsi que sur la période contemporaine. Les champs d’étude de l’équipe incluent notamment :

  • Manuscrits et inscriptions
  • Religions chinoises : bouddhisme, taoïsme, manichéisme, religion zoroastrienne
  • Histoire de la période impériale
  • Histoire de l’art, archéologie et culture matérielle
  • Histoire de la littérature et des pratiques lettrées

Les recherches de l’équipe Civilisation chinoise ont en commun l’utilisation et l’exploitation directe des sources et des matériaux primaires, qu’il s’agisse de manuscrits, d’artefacts ou de traces archéologiques, ou encore du travail de terrain dans le domaine des religions.

Activités

Chaque année, l’équipe organise des journées d’étude, des colloques, et accueille une dizaine de conférences prononcées par des spécialistes internationalement reconnus dans le domaine des études chinoises, toutes approches disciplinaires confondues.
 Le fonds documentaire spécialisé acquis par l’équipe est déposé dans la salle de travail de l’équipe et à la bibliothèque de l’Institut des hautes études chinoises, ainsi qu’à la bibliothèque de l’UFR des Langues et des Civilisations de l’Asie orientale (LCAO) de l’Université de Paris. La bibliothèque de l’équipe Chine comprend à présent plus de 3500 titres, en chinois, japonais, français, allemand et anglais, portant principalement sur les manuscrits de Dunhuang et de la Chine antique, et sur l’épigraphie. Tous les ouvrages de cette collection sont disponibles dans le catalogue en ligne du Collège de France

Coopérations

Académie Chinoise des Sciences Sociales (CASS), Institut d’archéologie

Centre for the Studies of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC), Universität Hamburg

China Agricultural Museum, Pékin

Dunhuang Research Academy

Internationales Kolleg für Geisteswissenschaftliche Forschung (IKGF), Erlangen

Institut für Orient und Asienwissenschaften, Université de Bonn

Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Pékin

Irasia, Université Aix-Marseille

Musée du Palais de Pékin, Département de recherche sur la vie de la cour (Chine)

Musée du Palais de Pékin, Département de restauration et d’analyses scientifiques

Musée du Palais de Pékin, Département des objets d’art

Musée du Palais de Pékin, Institut d’archéologie

Musée du Palais de Pékin, Institut d’études sino-tibétaines

Turfan Studies project (Turfanforschung), Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW)

Université de Fudan, Shanghai)

Université de Genève, Département d’études est-asiatiques (ESTAS)

Université de Leiden

Université de Milan-Bicocca

Université de Wuhan, Centre de recherche sur les manuscrits anciens

Université Friedrich-Alexander de Erlangen-Nuremberg

Université normale de la Capitale, Centre d’étude de la poésie, Université Renmin de Pékin

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Formation

Les membres de l’équipe Civilisation chinoise encadrent les doctorants rattachés à l’École doctorale de l’École Pratique des Hautes Études (ED 472), mention Religions et systèmes de pensée ou mention Histoire, textes et documents, ou bien à l’École doctorale Langue, Littérature, Image : civilisation et sciences humaines (domaines anglophone, francophone et d’Asie orientale) (ED 131) de l’Université de Paris.
 Ils assurent des enseignements dans le cadre de deux Masters spécialisés dans les études asiatiques à Paris :

Historique

En 1982, Michel Soymié crée et dirige une équipe de recherche associée au CNRS (« Équipe de recherches sur les manuscrits de Dunhuang et matériaux connexes »), dont le rôle essentiel est de poursuivre et d’achever la rédaction du Catalogue des manuscrits chinois de Touen-houang (fonds Pelliot chinois de la Bibliothèque nationale). Cette équipe, dont il assure la direction scientifique jusqu’en 1992, rédige également les notices des reproductions de peintures chinoises de Dunhuang conservées au musée Guimet (Les arts de l’Asie centrale. La collection Pelliot du musée Guimet, 1995-1996). Parallèlement à ce travail, les membres de l’équipe se sont engagés dans l’exploitation intensive de l’ensemble des cinquante mille documents de Dunhuang conservés en Chine, en France, au Royaume-Uni, en Russie et au Japon, ainsi que des manuscrits découverts dans la région de Turfan et dans d’autres sites du Turkestan chinois. Ce champ constitue encore un domaine majeur des activités de l’équipe. Couvrant des domaines très différents les uns des autres, de la littérature ancienne aux textes bouddhiques et taoïstes, de la cosmologie à la médecine, l’analyse de ces manuscrits avait requis de la part des chercheurs des compétences dans les domaines de l’histoire religieuse et sociale, de la culture matérielle, de la codicologie, des sciences et des techniques. Le travail sur les documents de Dunhuang a permis aux membres de l’équipe d’aborder de nouveaux champs d’études, notamment thématiques, et de travailler sur des manuscrits issus d’autres sites tels que Turfan ou Douldour-âqour, mais aussi sur les collections d’estampages appartenant à différentes grandes institutions européennes. Autour du noyau de chercheurs spécialisés sur « Dunhuang », qui a joué un rôle pionnier et acquis une notoriété internationale, l’équipe s’est largement étoffée : les études d’histoire de la Chine se sont développées, et de nouveaux domaines de recherche sont apparus – tels que l’archéologie ou l’épigraphie, mais aussi les littératures prémoderne, moderne et contemporaine –, tout en conservant les compétences d’origine et, notamment, une forte composante dans le domaine des études religieuses.

Partager