Aims

This program initiated in 2020 focuses on problems of vocabulary. Indeed, specialised terms concerning archaeology, art history and architecture both in Chinese and in Japanese, rarely feature in bilingual dictionaries, which makes reading books and articles on these subjects particularly difficult. Moreover, this vocabulary isn’t included in unilingual Chinese and Japanese dictionaries either. Some attempts have been made to publish glossaries. But these are limited to everyday vocabulary and cannot reflect the language’s evolution. In China for example, the introduction of western concepts over the last thirty years in different fields such as art history, archaeology and the conservation of architectural heritage, has forced scholars to create new terms. In the mean time, other terms that were used in the first half of the 20th century have since disappeared. In this way, the glossary will necessarily include a historical aspect—for the terms that are today abandoned remain in books and articles of that period.

Methodology

To address the challenges that this situation presents, it is necessary to create our own glossary, which is what most scholars do. By pooling together everyone’s expertise, we will be able to make an extremely useful tool accessible to all. The creation of this tool will also foster fruitful exchanges between scholars, and cause them to reflect on their own discipline. The glossary is produced in stages, according to the disciplinary field of the researchers involved in the project. For the present five-year period, the project is starting in the fields of archaeology (China, Japan) and architectural history (Japan).

Expected Results

We aim to create an illustrated online glossary that will be freely accessible to all researchers. This glossary will be of great interest to them as well as to students working in these research fields.

Planning

Preparation of the program and looking into expertise external to the Research Unit; initiation of the program in the course of 2020; organisation of a China/Japan seminar focused on problems of terminology, preparation of a database (2021-2022 and 2022-2023); specialised workshops on specific topics (architecture, gardens, textiles, ceramics, field archaeology, ancient terminology—based on literary sources, etc.); progressive augmentation of the online glossary by topic.

Scientific output and planned scientific activities

Creation of a website freely accessible to all.

Partager

Discipline(s)

archaeology culture visuelle histoire de l’art

Participants

Leaders

Nicolas Fiévé (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Alain Thote (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

CRCAO members

Full members
Nicolas Fiévé (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Guoqiang Li (Université Paris Nanterre)
Mechtild Mertz (CNRS)
Alain Thote (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Olivier Venture (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Associated members
Lyce Jankowski (Royal Museum of Mariemont)
Yumiko Takagi (DaitôBunka University)
Corinne Tiry-Ono (French Ministry of Culture)
Diane Zhang-Goldberg (Independent)

Research support
Philippe Pons (CNRS)

Post-doctoral
Alia Demnati (Independent)
Delphine Vomscheid (Kyoto University)

Doctoral students
Pauline Duval (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Céline Pisseloup (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Benjamin Ringard (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Outside Participants

Eric Boudot
Emmanuel Marès
Laurent Nespoulous (Inalco)

Objectifs

Ce programme initié en 2020 est centré sur des problèmes de vocabulaire. En effet, les termes spécialisés d’archéologie, d’histoire de l’art et d’architecture, en chinois comme en japonais, apparaissent rarement dans les dictionnaires bilingues, rendant la lecture des livres et articles difficile. D’autre part, ce vocabulaire particulier ne trouve pas plus sa place dans les dictionnaires chinois ou japonais unilingues. Des tentatives ont bien été entreprises pour publier des glossaires. Cependant, ces derniers se limitent au vocabulaire commun et ne peuvent tenir compte de l’évolution même de la langue. En Chine par exemple, l’introduction de concepts occidentaux au cours des trente dernières années dans les domaines aussi bien de l’histoire de l’art que de l’archéologie ou de la conservation du patrimoine architectural a contraint les chercheurs à créer de nouveaux termes. D’autres termes, en usage dans la première moitié du XXe siècle ont depuis lors disparu. Le glossaire devra avoir une dimension historique – car ces termes aujourd’hui inusités demeurent dans les livres et articles de cette époque.

Méthode

Pour pallier les difficultés générées par ces situations, il est nécessaire de constituer pour soi-même son propre glossaire, ce que font la plupart des chercheurs. En réunissant les compétences de chacun, on sera à même de mettre à la disposition de tous un outil extrêmement utile. La constitution de cet outil permettra aussi d’engager des échanges fructueux entre les chercheurs, les amenant à entreprendre une réflexion sur leur discipline. Le glossaire est réalisé par étape, en fonction du champ disciplinaire des chercheurs investis dans le projet. Pour le présent quinquennal, le projet débute dans les domaines de l’archéologie (Chine, Japon), ainsi que de l’histoire de l’architecture (Japon).

Résultats attendus

On vise à créer un glossaire en ligne, qui sera illustré, et qui devra être accessible à tous les chercheurs gratuitement. Ce glossaire présentera pour eux, mais aussi pour tous les étudiants dans ces domaines un intérêt immense.

Planning

Préparation du programme, recherche des compétences externes au laboratoire ; mise en route du programme au cours de l’année 2020 ; organisation d’un séminaire Chine/Japon à Paris sur les problèmes de terminologie, préparation d’une base de données (2021-2022 ; 2022-2023) ; journées d’études spécialisées autour de thèmes précis (l’architecture, les jardins, les textiles, la céramique, l’archéologie de terrain, la terminologie ancienne – à partir des sources littéraires, etc.) ; édition progressive par thèmes du glossaire en ligne.

Production et actions scientifiques

Création d’un site Internet ouvert à tous.

Partager

Inscription disciplinaire

archéologie culture visuelle histoire de l’art

Participants

Responsables

Nicolas Fiévé (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Alain Thote (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Membres CRCAO

Membres titulaires
Nicolas Fiévé (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Guoqiang Li (Université Paris Nanterre)
Mechtild Mertz (CNRS)
Alain Thote (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Olivier Venture (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Membres associés
Lyce Jankowski (Musée royal de Mariemont)
Yumiko Takagi (Université DaitôBunka)
Corinne Tiry-Ono (Ministère de la Culture)
Diane Zhang-Goldberg (Indépendant)

Appui à la recherche
Philippe Pons (CNRS)

Post-doctorants
Alia Demnati (Indépendant)
Delphine Vomscheid (Université de Paris)

Doctorants
Pauline Duval (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Céline Pisseloup (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Participants hors laboratoire

Eric Boudot
Emmanuel Marès
Laurent Nespoulous (Inalco)