This program brings together historians and anthropologists of the Sinitic world around questions of perception, representation and administration of imperial margins. Historical anthropology offers perspectives that combine classic historical questions such as the measure of time and change with anthropological goals seeking to understand social and spatial logics of a given society. The margins of the Chinese empire will be approached as geographical border zones and as social spheres distinct from traditional political spaces. Understanding them implies geographical and ethnographic knowledge whose collection and use are challenged by such borderland areas.

During most of the imperial era, ethnographic descriptions were usually done by bureaucrats, but in the modern era foreigners, explorers, scholars, diplomats and soldiers became increasingly involved in ethnographic productions; such descriptions were also reappropriated by indigenous populations, who created and inscribed their own narratives within a larger frame. Therefore, the production of ethnographic knowledge needs to be reassessed through a historiographical prism, between philological activities and the constitution of oral archives.

The goal of the program is to reassess ethnographic and bureaucratic practices in contexts of crisis or uncertainty, but also of expansion and discovery. Instead of opposing centers and peripheries, submission and rebellion, it will address these issues through the lens of negotiation and accommodation. Beyond religious communities and marginalized social groups, polymaths, experts and other remarkable figures, it seeks to go beyond the distinction between individuals and human groups.

Planned events:

May 2023: national conference on the description of localities

October 2023: international workshop on nomadic and sedentary mobilities

Spring 2024: monthly seminar on ethnographies in borderland contexts

Partager

Discipline(s)

historical anthropology bureaucracy ethnography borders

Participants

Leader

Alexis Lycas (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

CRCAO members

Full members
Alexis Lycas (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Damien Chaussende (CNRS)
Pierre Marsone (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Associated members
Emanuela Garatti (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Frédéric Constant (Université Côte d'Azur)

Post-doctoral
Adrien Dupuis (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Liang Zhong (Université Paris Cité)

Doctoral students
Alice Crowther (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Xiangtao Sun (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Outside Participants

Claude Chevaleyre (CNRS, IAO)
Aurore Dumont (GSRL)
Pan Junliang (Paris Cité, IFRAE)
Laurent Chircop-Reyes (CEFC)
Chen Ming-Zong (EHESS)

Ce programme rassemble historien(ne)s et anthropologues du monde sinisé autour des questions de perception, de représentation et d’administration des marges impériales. L’anthropologie historique offre des perspectives combinant des questions typiquement historiennes comme la mesure du temps et du changement aux objectifs anthropologiques que sont la compréhension des logiques sociales d’une société donnée et sa mise en perspective dans un espace déterminé. Les marges de l’empire chinois y seront appréhendées à la fois comme des zones géographiques frontalières, et comme des sphères sociales distinctes des espaces politiques habituels. Leur compréhension implique des connaissances géographiques et ethnographiques dont la collecte et l’usage sont mis à l’épreuve par un tel contexte frontalier.

Fait principal des bureaucrates durant la majeure partie de l’ère impériale, la description ethnographique s’ouvre à l’époque moderne aux étrangers, explorateurs, savants, diplomates et militaires ; elle se voit également réappropriée par les populations autochtones, qui forgent et inscrivent leurs propres récits dans une narration aux voix désormais multiples. Il y a donc là matière à repenser la production du savoir ethnographique au prisme de l’écriture de l’histoire, entre travail philologique et constitution d’archives orales.

L’objectif du programme sera de réévaluer les pratiques ethnographiques et bureaucratiques dans des contextes de crises ou d’incertitude, mais aussi d’expansion et de découverte. Au lieu d’opposer centre et périphéries, soumission et rébellion, il s’agira d’aborder ces problèmes au prisme de la négociation et de l’accommodement. Par-delà les communautés religieuses et les groupes sociaux marginalisés, les polymathes, experts et autres personnages remarquables, il conviendra de dépasser la distinction entre individus et groupes humains.

 

Manifestations prévues :

Mai 2023 : une journée d’étude sur la description des localités

Octobre 2023 : atelier international sur les mobilités nomades et sédentaires

Printemps 2024 : séminaire mensuel autour du travail ethnographique en contexte frontalier

Partager

Inscription disciplinaire

anthropologie historique bureaucratie ethnographie frontières

Participants

Responsable

Alexis Lycas (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Membres CRCAO

Membres titulaires
Alexis Lycas (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Damien Chaussende (CNRS)
Pierre Marsone (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Membres associés
Emanuela Garatti (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Frédéric Constant (Université Côte d'Azur)

Post-doctorants
Adrien Dupuis (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Liang Zhong (Université Paris Cité)

Doctorants
Alice Crowther (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Xiangtao Sun (École Pratique des Hautes Études)

Participants hors laboratoire

Claude Chevaleyre (CNRS, IAO)
Aurore Dumont (GSRL)
Pan Junliang (Paris Cité, IFRAE)
Laurent Chircop-Reyes (CEFC)
Chen Ming-Zong (EHESS)