The “Social History of Tibet” programme for this 2019-2023 five-year period is a direct extension of the former “Modern History of Tibetan Societies” programme (for the 2014-2018 period), namely through its first research theme, entitled “Social History of Tibetan Societies (XVIIe-XXe centuries)”. The former five-year program was based mainly on two successive ANR-DFG projects on the Social History of Tibet: the “Social History of Tibetan Societies (SHTS)” project (2012-2016), and its sequel project “Social Status in the Tibetan World” (2016-2020). These two ANR-DFG projects were partly based on archives, as a source for social history, and partly on other types of sources (oral and published written materials). The detailed description of these programs are available on a dedicated website (http://www.tibetanhistory.net/).

TibStat, the second ANR-DFG project, reached its conclusion at the end of 2020, but research in the domain of the Social History of Tibet continues as one of the core programs of the Tibet team.

The program is thus organized around two main research themes:

A. Social status in the Tibetan world

This research theme is based on the bilateral Franco-German project (ANR/DFG), directed by Charles Ramble and Peter Schwieger and entitled “Social Status in the Tibetan World” (TibStat, 2016-2020). The aim is to focus the historical analysis of Social History (initiated in the previous ANR-DFG project, the SHTS) solely on the issue of social status in the Tibetan world. Research on this theme is based on several corpora of sources from different areas of the Tibetan world. The scientific notion of social status, which is heavily indebted to Max Weber’s pioneering work, has the advantage of being more inclusive than other models of stratification and hierarchy: on the one hand, it is not limited to the study of caste societies, in which status is largely determined by birth, and on the other, it does not necessarily reduce status to economic factors, as in the Marxist understanding of class, where the social groups oppose each other in a dialectic way. The scope of this category gives it a considerable analytic value for the study of societies that are on a continuum from hierarchical determinism, as in the case of the most rigid cast societies where status is hereditary, to a much greater fluidity in the so-called “meritocracies” at the other end of the spectrum. Although considerable variations exist from one Tibetan region to another, all the societies examined within this theme are situated in between the two extremes of social determinism and self-realisation.

The geographical focus of Charles Ramble’s research is provided by the three borderland enclaves of of Mustang and Dolpo, in Nepal, and Porong, previously a semi-autonomous principality in southern Tibet. His research considers local laws and governance, civil society, resource management, taxes, social hierarchy and other aspects of social history. Alice Travers continues to pursue her former research activities on the aristocracy of Central Tibet, on the basis of documents relating to the nobility between the 17th and 20th centuries and kept in exile in different public and private archival collections.

Archives as a source for the social history of the Tibetan cultural area

Although historians working on other cultural areas treat archives as a research priority, the existence and importance of archives for the history of the Tibetan world has sometimes been underestimated. This is mainly because the archives of the Tibet Autonomous Region are difficult or even impossible to access, and also because these documents, when they are available, are difficult to analyse. Consequently, work on Tibet’s history has been based primarily on literary sources. Yet, there are numerous Tibetan documents scattered in various museums and institutions throughout the world, as well as important local archival collections in regions surrounding the Tibetan cultural area. A substantial part of the available archives still remains under-exploited. Some collections have been or are the object of extensive research, like the one currently being investigated at Bonn University, where researchers have adapted tools for critical analysis taken from the field of diplomatics and applied them to the chancery archives; or again archives from Mustang, Dolpo and Porong, that are the focus of Charles Ramble’s research. Innovative works have recently revealed how valuable a codicological approach can be for studying these documents (Helman-Ważny and Ramble 2017), by analysing the handwriting as well as the use of seals and all other validation marks—this is an approach that was recently applied to the study of Tibetan manuscripts, but not yet to the study of archives: our program intends to fill this gap in scholarship by developing a new methodology in collaboration with Agnieszka Helman-Ważny (Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures, Hamburg).
This program will thus focus specifically on the role of Tibetan archives as a source for the social history of Tibet by attempting to draw up an inventory of the different relevant archive collections in the world and determining their individual characteristics and diversity according to the regions of the Tibetan world. It combines the study of the content of these archives with diplomatic and codicological analysis.

Scientific output

The main platform for the output of this research program is the website that was created for the two ANR-DFG projects (SHTS and TibStat) (www.tibetanhistory.net). Among other things, the website contains a searchable database of over 200 Tibetan documents from Mustang, fully translated and annotated, and further material will continue to be added as work proceeds. The site also provides a full list of the completed and forthcoming publications of the projects, as well as of studies in Tibetan social history undertaken outside these.

Partager

Participants

Leaders

Charles Ramble (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Alice Travers (CNRS)

CRCAO members

Full members
Charles Ramble (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Alice Travers (CNRS)

Associated members
Françoise Robin (Inalco)
Lara Maconi (Inalco)

Outside Participants

Dr Christoph Cüppers (Lumbini International Research University, TibStat 2016-2020)
MA Jeannine Bischoff (Bonn University, Allemagne, TibStat 2016-2020)
Pr. Fernanda Pirie (Oxford University, GB, TibStat 2016-2020)
Dr Kalsang Norbu Gurung (Bonn University, Allemagne, TibStat 2016-2020)
Dr. Hildegard Diemberger (Cambridge University, GB, TibStat 2016-2020)
Dr Agneszka Helman-Ważny (Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures, Hamburg)

Pour cette période quinquennale (2019-2023), le programme « Histoire sociale du Tibet » est un prolongement direct de l’ancien programme « Histoire moderne des sociétés tibétaines » (période 2014-2018), notamment à travers son premier thème de recherche intitulé « Histoire sociale des sociétés tibétaines (XVIIe-XXe siècles) ». L’ancien programme quinquennal reposait principalement sur deux projets franco-allemands successifs (financés par l’ANR et la DFG) sur l’histoire sociale du Tibet : le projet « Social History of Tibetan Societies (SHTS) » (2012-2016), et le projet qui lui a fait suite « Social Status in the Tibetan World (SHTS) » (2016-2020). Ces deux projets ANR-DFG étaient basés en partie sur les archives comme sources d’histoire sociale et en partie sur d’autres types de sources (documents écrits, oraux et publiés). La description détaillée de ces programmes est disponible sur un site internet dédié (http://www.tibetanhistory.net/).

TibStat, le deuxième projet ANR-DFG, s’est achevé fin 2020, mais la recherche dans le domaine de l’histoire sociale du Tibet se poursuit comme l’un des principaux programmes de l’équipe Tibet.

 

Le programme est organisé en deux axes :

A. Le statut social dans le monde tibétain

Ce thème de recherche s’est appuyé d’abord sur le projet bilatéral franco-allemand (ANR/DFG), dirigé par Charles Ramble et Peter Schwieger et intitulé « Social Status in the Tibetan World » (TibStat, 2016-2020). L’objectif était de centrer l’analyse historique de l’Histoire sociale (initiée dans le précédent projet ANR-DFG, SHTS) uniquement sur la question du statut social dans le monde tibétain. La recherche sur ce thème s’appuie sur plusieurs corpus de sources provenant de différentes régions du monde tibétain. La notion scientifique de statut social, largement inspirée par les travaux pionniers de Max Weber, présente l’avantage d’être plus inclusive que d’autres modèles de stratification et de hiérarchie : d’une part, elle ne se limite pas à l’étude des sociétés de castes, dans lesquelles le statut est largement déterminé par la naissance, et d’autre part, elle ne réduit pas nécessairement le statut à des facteurs économiques, comme dans la conception marxiste des classes, où les groupes sociaux s’opposent de manière dialectique. La portée de cette catégorie lui donne une valeur analytique considérable pour les sociétés qui se trouvent sur un continuum allant du déterminisme hiérarchique, comme celui de l’hérédité dans le cas des sociétés à castes les plus rigides, à une plus grande fluidité dans ce qu’on appelle les « méritocraties » à l’autre extrême. Bien qu’il existe des variations considérables d’une région tibétaine à une autre, toutes les sociétés en question sont situées entre les deux extrêmes de l’imputation et de la réalisation.

La recherche de Charles Ramble se concentre géographiquement sur les trois enclaves frontalières du Mustang et du Dolpo, au Népal, et sur Porong, ancienne principauté semi-autonome du sud du Tibet. Ses recherches portent sur les lois et la gouvernance locales, la société civile, la gestion des ressources, les taxes, la hiérarchie sociale et d’autres aspects de l’histoire sociale. Alice Travers poursuit ses activités de recherche sur l’aristocratie du Tibet central, sur la base de documents relatifs à la noblesse entre les XVIIe et XXe siècles et conservés en exil dans différentes collections d’archives publiques et privées.

B. Les archives comme source pour l’histoire sociale de l’aire culturelle tibétaine

Bien que les archives soient mobilisées de façon prioritaire par les historiens d’autres aires culturelles, l’existence et l’importance des archives pour l’histoire du monde tibétain a parfois été sous-estimée, en raison d’un accès aujourd’hui difficile voire impossible aux archives de la Région Autonome du Tibet, mais aussi en raison des difficultés d’analyse que ces documents présentent, lorsqu’ils existent. De ce fait, des sources de type littéraire ont très souvent été utilisées pour l’histoire du Tibet. Il existe pourtant de nombreux documents d’archives en tibétain, éparpillés dans des musées ou institutions diverses à travers le monde, ainsi que d’importants fonds sur site dans les régions périphériques de l’aire culturelle tibétaine. Une large partie des archives disponibles demeure encore sous-exploitée. Certains fonds ont fait ou font l’objet d’un travail important, comme celui des chercheurs de l’université de Bonn, qui ont développé des outils d’analyse critique adaptés, tirés de la diplomatique, notamment pour les archives de Chancellerie ; ou encore celui de Charles Ramble sur les archives du Mustang, Dolpo et Porong. Des travaux récents et novateurs ont permis de mettre au jour l’intérêt d’une approche codicologique de ces documents (Helman-Wazny et Ramble 2017), par l’analyse des écritures manuscrites, de l’utilisation des sceaux et de l’ensemble des signes de validation — une approche qui avait été récemment appliquée à l’étude des manuscrits tibétains, mais pas encore à celle des archives, une lacune donc que ce programme entend combler en développant une méthodologie nouvelle en collaboration avec Agneszka Helman-Wazny (Center for the study of Manuscript Cultures, Hambourg).

Ce programme se concentrera donc spécifiquement sur le rôle des archives tibétaines comme source de l’histoire sociale du Tibet en tentant de dresser un inventaire des différents fonds d’archives pertinents dans le monde et en déterminant leurs caractéristiques individuelles et leur diversité selon les régions du monde tibétain. Il combine l’étude du contenu de ces archives avec une analyse diplomatique et codicologique.

Résultats scientifiques

La principale plate-forme pour les résultats de ce programme de recherche est le site web qui a été créé pour les deux projets ANR-DFG (SHTS et TibStat) (www.tibetanhistory.net). Entre autres choses, le site contient une base de données consultable de plus de 200 documents tibétains du Mustang, entièrement traduits et annotés, et d’autres documents continueront à être ajoutés au fur et à mesure de l’avancement des travaux. Le site fournit également une liste complète des publications achevées et à venir des projets, ainsi que des études en histoire sociale tibétaine entreprises en dehors de ceux-ci.

Partager

Participants

Responsables

Charles Ramble (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Alice Travers (CNRS)

Membres CRCAO

Membres titulaires
Charles Ramble (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Alice Travers (CNRS)

Membres associés
Françoise Robin (Inalco)
Lara Maconi (Inalco)

Participants hors laboratoire

Dr Christoph Cüppers (Lumbini International Research University, TibStat 2016-2020)
MA Jeannine Bischoff (Bonn University, Allemagne, TibStat 2016-2020)
Pr. Fernanda Pirie (Oxford University, GB, TibStat 2016-2020)
Dr Kalsang Norbu Gurung (Bonn University, Allemagne, TibStat 2016-2020)
Dr. Hildegard Diemberger (Cambridge University, GB, TibStat 2016-2020)
Dr Agneszka Helman-Ważny (Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures, Hamburg)