Objectives

This new programme aims to study certain characteristics of the essays, usually grouped in the modern category known as  » brushstroke notes  » (zuihitsu), which flourished during the Edo period. Since the 17th century, booksellers’ catalogues have listed these books in a broader category, koji (precedents) and zakki (various notes), which covers a field ranging from « literary » essays, collections of thoughts captured in the moment, to real collections of stories and classified reflections, or even illustrated encyclopaedias.

There is also a multiplicity of author profiles, be they Confucian merchants or warriors, Buddhist monks, doctors, or even lords; but also a multiplicity of languages, with essays in Chinese, and others in written Japanese. The Chinese characters and two syllabaries, the katakana of the aspiring literate public and the hiragana of the « people », are still as many different media used by the authors of these collections.

Finally, these works are at the crossroads of many internal and external influences: they inherit both the style and organisation of their Chinese equivalents (biji and/or leishu), in particular Xie Zhaozhe’s Wuzazu (1616), and also that of local classics, notably Urabe Kenkô’s Tsurezuregusa (14th century).

Despite this great diversity of forms and styles, it seems nevertheless possible to identify certain recurring themes. These include reflections on the near and distant past, court culture (ga), popular culture (zoku), language, customs, the surrounding world, beliefs, the strange and the foreign. The program will therefore aim to shed light on how these essays enable scholars to organise their knowledge and to construct, from scattered fragments from their readings, discussions and anticipations, an invisible or underlying text to which they confront their ideas and erudition, to finally produce discourses on Japanese history, society, and culture.

Method and schedule

Half-day workshops will be held twice a year. Each participant proposes to study either an author or a particular text. Their contents will be approached from the following angles: the sociability of the authors, the context of production and the chronology of publications, material culture, organisational principles and methods, the role of publishers, the modes of expression of the subject, the reception and collection of the sources examined.

Expected results

Publication of a collective work/journal issue and a collection of French translations of representative selections.

Partager

Participants

Leaders

Matthias Hayek (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Daniel Struve (Université de Paris)

CRCAO members

Full members
Matthias Hayek (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Daniel Struve (Université de Paris)
Annick Horiuchi (Université de Paris)
Frédéric Girard (École française d'Extrême-Orient)
François Lachaud (École française d'Extrême-Orient)

Doctoral students
Céline Pisseloup (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Sarah Vallette d’Osia (Université de Paris)

Outside Participants

Didier Davin (National Institute for Japanese literature)
Christophe Marquet (EFEO)
Nicolas Mollard (Jean Moulin University)

Objectifs

Ce nouveau programme vise à étudier certaines caractéristiques des essais, habituellement regroupés dans la catégorie moderne dite « notes au fil du pinceau » (zuihitsu), qui ont connu durant l’époque d’Edo un essor considérable. Les catalogues de libraires, depuis, 17e siècle, rangent ces livres dans une catégorie plus vaste, koji (précédents) et zakki (notes variées), qui couvre un champ allant des essais « littéraires », recueils de pensées saisies sur le moment, à de véritables collections d’histoires et de réflexions classées, voire des encyclopédies illustrées.
On remarque aussi une pluralité des profils des auteurs, qu’ils soient des confucéens marchands ou guerriers, moines bouddhistes, médecins, ou même des seigneurs ; mais aussi une multiplicité des formes linguistiques, avec des essais en chinois, et d’autres en japonais écrit. Les caractères chinois et les deux syllabaires, les katakana du public aspirant-lettré et les hiragana du « peuple », sont encore autant de media différents utilisés par les auteurs de ces recueils.
Enfin, ces ouvrages se trouvent au croisement de nombreuses influences internes et externes : ils héritent à la fois du style et de l’organisation des équivalents chinois (biji et/ou leishu), en particulier le Wuzazu de Xie Zhaozhe (1616), et également de celui des classiques locaux, notamment du Tsurezuregusa d’Urabe Kenkô (14e s.).
Malgré cette grande diversité des formes et des styles, il semble néanmoins possible de dégager certains thèmes récurrents. On y retrouve ainsi des réflexions sur le passé proche et lointain, la culture de Cour (ga), la culture populaire (zoku), la langue, les mœurs, le monde environnant, les croyances, l’étrange et l’étranger. Le programme visera donc à mettre en lumière la façon dont ces essais permettent aux savants d’organiser leurs connaissances et de construire, à partir de fragments épars issus de leurs lectures, discussions et anticipations, un texte invisible ou sous-entendu auquel ils confrontent leurs idées et leur érudition, pour enfin produire des discours sur l’histoire, la société, et la culture japonaise.

Méthode et planning

Des demi-journées d’étude seront organisées deux fois chaque année. Chaque participant se propose d’étudier soit un auteur, soit un texte en particulier. On abordera leurs contenus sous les angles suivants : la sociabilité des auteurs, le contexte de production et la chronologie des publications, la culture matérielle, les principes d’organisation et méthodes, le rôle des éditeurs, les modes d’expression du sujet, la réception et la collecte des sources examinées

Résultats attendus

Publication d’un ouvrage collectif/numéro de revue et d’un recueil de traductions en français d’extraits représentatifs.

Institutions partenaires

EFEO
National Institute for Japanese Literature

Partager

Participants

Responsables

Matthias Hayek (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Daniel Struve (Université de Paris)

Membres CRCAO

Membres titulaires
Matthias Hayek (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Daniel Struve (Université de Paris)
Annick Horiuchi (Université de Paris)
Frédéric Girard (École française d'Extrême-Orient)
François Lachaud (École française d'Extrême-Orient)

Membres associés
Nicolas Mollard (Université Lyon 3)
Mario Talamo (Université de Catane)

Doctorants
Céline Pisseloup (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Sarah Vallette d’Osia (Université de Paris)

Participants hors laboratoire

Didier Davin (Institut national de littérature japonaise)
Christophe Marquet (EFEO)