In their various fields of research, scholars working on classical and premodern East Asia constantly encounter situations in which the parameters of the language used in a given text constitute by themselves an essential part of its meaning-making. In other words, the semiotisation of a text is no longer solely a function of its explicit content, at the denotative level: it is also determined by that implicit, connotative dimension, which is the choice of the particular linguistic form that is used to write that text. This dimension is present in many situations: quotation, commentary, rewriting, literary creation (in genre-hopping, for example), and more broadly in the genesis of many types of texts.

In China, the coexistence of the two different registers of classical and vernacular Chinese (literary Chinese vs./ vernacular Chinese) has triggered a whole series of linguistic relocations that are not only stylistic, but also translational in the full sense. The neighbouring countries of the so-called « sinographosphere » (Korea, Japan, Vietnam, the Altaic regions, etc.), while maintaining ambiguous relations of linguistic familiarity and strangeness in relation to classical Chinese (which did not necessarily call for translation into local vernacular languages), were themselves drawn into multiple forms of intralingual translation and rewriting, according to the ever complex situations of diglossia, pluriglossia or plurilingualism.

The two-way relationship of rewriting cannot be reduced to the convenient model of a ‘high’ (or ‘classical’) variety of language versus ‘low’ variety(ies) in situations of diglossia or pluriglossia. The configurations are in fact much more complex, but also much more interesting. Intralingual translation cannot be limited to instrumental purposes, as in the ‘initiate-profane’ configuration, where an ancient or classical text is translated into a version deemed more ‘accessible’. In China, the hermeneutics of the Classics is linked to the emergence of vernacular genres. This phenomenon is also of interest to China’s neighbouring countries and cultural areas. In the East Asian space, while it is true that the widespread use of Classical Chinese until the premodern period produced what might be called a kind of Sinographic cosmopolitanism, which to some extent obviated the immediate need for translation between different languages in the written sphere, this did not prevent the development of vernacular languages and the sharing of knowledge from diachronic and socio-cultural perspectives.

The contiguity of the practices of rewriting, commentary and intralingual translation in the countries of the sinographosphere in the classical and premodern periods explains why this line of research has a transversal dimension.

The program led to a workshop in 2017, with publication in progress, and a workshop in 2021.

Partager

Participants

Leaders

Rainier Lanselle (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Barbara Bisetto (Università degli Studi di Verona)

CRCAO members

Full members
Rainier Lanselle (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Matthias Hayek (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Pierre Marsone (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Philippe Papin (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Jean-Noël Robert (Collège de France)
Daniel Struve (Université de Paris)
Victor Vuilleumier 宇乐文 (Université de Paris)

Associated members
Barbara Bisetto (Università degli Studi di Verona)
Anne Cheng (Collège de France)
Vincent Durand-Dastès (Inalco)

Research support
Philippe Pons (CNRS)

Post-doctoral
Aude Lucas (Independent)

Outside Participants

Özlem Berk Albachten (Université du Bosphore, Bogazici University, Turquie)
Rebekah Clements (Durham University)
Matthew Fraleigh (Brandeis University)
Mårten Söderblom Saarela (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science)
Viatcheslav Vetrov (Université de Heidelberg)
Karen Korning Zethsen (University of Aarhus, Denmark)

Dans leurs différents domaines de la recherche, les chercheurs travaillant sur l’Asie orientale classique et prémoderne rencontrent constamment des situations au sein desquelles les paramètres de la langue utilisée dans un texte donné constituent par eux-mêmes une part essentielle de sa prise de sens. Autrement dit la sémiotisation d’un texte n’est plus seulement fonction de son contenu explicite, au niveau dénotatif : elle est également déterminée par cette dimension implicite, connotative, qu’est le choix de la forme linguistique particulière qui est mobilisée pour écrire ce texte. Cette dimension est présente dans de nombreuses situations : citation, commentaire, réécriture, création littéraire (dans les transpositions d’un genre à l’autre par exemple), et plus largement dans la genèse de nombreux types de textes.
En Chine, la coexistence des deux registres différents du chinois classique et du chinois vernaculaires a déclenché toute une série de délocalisations linguistiques qui relèvent non seulement de la stylistique, mais de la traduction au sens plein. Les pays voisins de ladite « sinographosphère » (Corée, Japon, Vietnam, régions altaïques…), tout en entretenant des relations ambiguës de familiarité linguistique et d’étrangeté par rapport au chinois classique (lequel n’appelait pas nécessairement à la traduction dans les langues vernaculaires locales), ont été eux-mêmes entraînés dans des formes multiples de traduction intralinguale et de réécritures, au gré de situations toujours complexes de diglossie, de pluriglossie ou de plurilinguisme.

Le rapport de réécriture ne se réduit pas au modèle commode qui oppose, dans les situations de diglossie ou de pluriglossie, une variété « élevée » (ou « classique ») de la langue à une ou des variété(s) « inférieure(s) ». Les configurations sont en fait autrement complexes, mais aussi bien plus riches. La traduction intralinguale ne saurait se limiter à des finalités instrumentales, comme dans la configuration « initié-profane », où, d’un texte ancien ou classique, sera tirée une version réputée plus « accessible ». En Chine, l’herméneutique des Classiques est liée à l’émergence de genres vernaculaires. Ce phénomène intéresse aussi les pays et aires culturelles voisins de la Chine. Dans l’espace de l’Asie orientale, s’il est vrai que l’utilisation généralisée de chinois classique jusqu’à la période prémoderne a produit ce qu’on pourrait appeler une sorte de cosmopolitisme sinographique, qui a permis dans une certaine mesure de shunter la nécessité immédiate de la traduction entre les différentes langues dans la sphère écrite, cela n’a pas empêché le développement de langues vernaculaires et le partage des connaissances dans les perspectives diachroniques et socio-culturelles.
La contiguïté des pratiques de réécriture, de commentaire et de traduction intralinguale dans les pays de la sinographosphère dans les périodes classique et prémoderne explique pourquoi cet axe de recherche présente une dimension transversale.

Il a donné lieu à un colloque en 2017, avec publication en cours, et à un workshop en 2021.

Partager

Participants

Responsables

Rainier Lanselle (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Barbara Bisetto (Università degli Studi di Verona)

Membres CRCAO

Membres titulaires
Rainier Lanselle (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Matthias Hayek (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Pierre Marsone (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Philippe Papin (École Pratique des Hautes Études)
Jean-Noël Robert (Collège de France)
Daniel Struve (Université de Paris)
Victor Vuilleumier 宇乐文 (Université de Paris)

Membres associés
Barbara Bisetto (Università degli Studi di Verona)
Marie Bizais-Lillig (Université de Strasbourg)
Anne Cheng (Collège de France)
Vincent Durand-Dastès (Inalco)

Appui à la recherche
Philippe Pons (CNRS)

Post-doctorants
Aude Lucas (Indépendant)

Participants hors laboratoire

Özlem Berk Albachten (Université du Bosphore, Bogazici University, Turquie)
Rebekah Clements (Durham University)
Matthew Fraleigh (Brandeis University)
Mårten Söderblom Saarela (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science)
Viatcheslav Vetrov (Université de Heidelberg)
Karen Korning Zethsen (University of Aarhus, Denmark)