Accueil > En bref

East Asian Civilizations Research Center

par Lemardelé Élise - , mis à jour le

The CRCAO, founded in 2006, is defined as a ‘mixed research unit’ (UMR) of the CNRS owing to its affiliation with the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes (EPHE) and the University of Paris Diderot. Its headquarters are located at the Collège de France, 52 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 75005, Paris, France.

The unit includes around fifty regular members, eighty-four doctoral researchers and many associate members, and is composed of three teams :

  • China
  • Japan
  • Tibet, Bhutan and Tibetan Cultural Regions.

The CRCAO’s research programmes cover a large range of themes and periods, from ancient times to the modern era. Its five main axes of research are :

  • Art History and Archaeology.
  • Religion
  • Social and Cultural History
  • Literature
  • Society, Culture and Institutions of the Contemporary and Modern World